Market Pulse
Mixed observation times, Oct 20–Oct 25, 2026 (5 days apart)
Wealth · 7 min

The I bond's next rate hangs on one CPI number, due October 14

Two CPI-U index levels and a fixed rate Treasury picks make up every I bond rate. We rebuild the formula from the regulation and BLS tables.

◆ The Signal
30-second read
What happened
The inflation half of the Series I savings bond rate announced for May 2026 rests on two Bureau of Labor Statistics index levels: unadjusted CPI-U of 324.800 for September 2025 and 330.213 for March 2026. The change between them is 1.67%.
Why
A federal regulation, 31 CFR Part 359, defines the semiannual inflation rate as the six-month change in unadjusted CPI-U and combines it with a fixed rate through a published formula. Each bond keeps its fixed rate for life; the inflation part resets every six months.
The numbers that matter
1.67%Six-month CPI-U change, September 2025 to March 2026 (our calculation from BLS)
330.213CPI-U index, March 2026, not seasonally adjusted
$10,000Electronic I bonds one Social Security Number may buy per calendar year
Oct 14BLS release date for September 2026 CPI
Why it matters
Anyone holding I bonds earns this inflation component plus their own bond's fixed rate, and cannot redeem in the first 12 months or without losing three months of interest before five years.
What happens nextas we saw it on 7 Oct 2026
BLS publishes the September 2026 CPI on October 14, 2026 at 8:30 a.m. ET; Treasury's regulation sets its rate announcements for May 1 and November 1, so the next one is dated November 1, 2026.
Go deeper ↓
I bond inflation component
Six-month change in unadjusted CPI-U behind each I bond reset, March 2024 to March 2026

The six-month CPI-U change used for I bonds rose at each of the last three resets, to 1.67% for the May 2026 reset.

Six-month change in unadjusted CPI-U behind each I bond reset, March 2024 to March 2026
Sep 2025 to Mar 2026 (May 2026 reset)1.7%
Mar 2025 to Sep 2025 (Nov 2025 reset)1.6%
Sep 2024 to Mar 2025 (May 2025 reset)1.4%
Mar 2024 to Sep 2024 (Nov 2024 reset)0.9%
% change in CPI-U (not seasonally adjusted) over six months; our calculationSource: BLS CPI news releases of April 10, 2025, October 24, 2025 and April 10, 2026 (Table 1); formula from 31 CFR 359.11
Go deeper

Every Series I savings bond earns a rate built from two numbers the Bureau of Labor Statistics has already printed. For the rate set in May 2026 they were 324.800 and 330.213: the unadjusted CPI-U index for September 2025 and for March 2026. The gap between them, 1.67%, is the inflation half of the rate. The other half is a fixed rate that Treasury chooses and that never changes for the life of the bond.

The method is written down in a federal regulation, 31 CFR Part 359. This piece rebuilds it from that text and the BLS tables, tests it against a rate Treasury published, and sets out what the November 1, 2026 reset depends on.

Two index levels, six months apart

Fact
The inflation component is a six-month change in unadjusted CPI-U
The regulation names “the nonseasonally adjusted CPI-U” for the U.S. city average, all items. The rate is “(CPI-U Current − CPI-U Prior) ÷ CPI-U Prior”, rounded to the nearest one-hundredth of one percent. Its own example: the rate announced in May 2002 “reflects the percentage change between the CPI-U figures from the preceding March 2002 and September 2001.” So a May announcement uses September-to-March, and a November announcement uses March-to-September. Announcements are published “each May 1 and November 1.”

Both index levels exist before the announcement: BLS released the March 2026 index on April 10, 2026, and the September 2025 index on October 24, 2025. The seasonally adjusted figures that lead each BLS release are not the ones used.

Wealth Signal calculation
The May 2026 inflation component: 1.67%
September 2025 CPI-U: 324.800. March 2026 CPI-U: 330.213. (330.213 − 324.800) ÷ 324.800 = 5.413 ÷ 324.800 = 0.016666, which rounds to 1.67% for six months.
The six-month CPI-U change for the last four I bond resets
Reset announcedCPI-U monthsIndex levelsSix-month change
November 2024March 2024 to September 2024312.332 to 315.3010.95%
May 2025September 2024 to March 2025315.301 to 319.7991.43%
November 2025March 2025 to September 2025319.799 to 324.8001.56%
May 2026September 2025 to March 2026324.800 to 330.2131.67%
Source: BLS CPI news releases, Table 1, released April 10, 2025, October 24, 2025 and April 10, 2026; index levels not seasonally adjusted. Six-month change is our calculation using 31 CFR 359.11.

The six-month change has been larger at each of the last three resets than at the one before. That describes the published index only.

The formula, and why it doubles

Fact
The composite rate formula, as the regulation writes it
31 CFR 359.14: “Composite rate = {(Fixed rate ÷ 2) + Semiannual inflation rate + [Semiannual inflation rate × (Fixed rate ÷ 2)]} × 2.” Multiplying out the brackets gives the form often quoted: fixed rate + (2 × semiannual inflation rate) + (fixed rate × semiannual inflation rate). The two are the same expression.

Step by step: the annual fixed rate is halved to cover six months; the six-month inflation rate is added; the small cross term pays the fixed rate on the inflation-adjusted part of the principal. Doubling the six-month sum states it as an annual figure. The bond “compounds semiannually”, so each six-month period adds half the composite rate to its value.

Wealth Signal calculation
The regulation's own example checks out
For bonds issued May to October 2002 the regulation uses a fixed rate of 2.00% and an inflation rate of 0.28%: [0.0100 + 0.0028 + (0.0028 × 0.0100)] × 2 = [0.0100 + 0.0028 + 0.000028] × 2 = 0.012828 × 2 = 0.025656, which rounds to 2.57%, the figure the regulation prints.
Wealth Signal calculation
Testing the method against a rate Treasury published
A TreasuryDirect page on a Treasury host, retrieved October 4, 2026, shows the rate for I bonds issued November 1, 2024 to April 30, 2025: 3.11%, which “includes a fixed rate of 1.20%”. That November 2024 announcement uses March 2024 (312.332) and September 2024 (315.301): 2.969 ÷ 312.332 = 0.95%. Composite = [0.0060 + 0.0095 + (0.0095 × 0.0060)] × 2 = [0.0155 + 0.000057] × 2 = 0.031114, which rounds to 3.11%. The rebuilt figure matches Treasury's to the hundredth.
Interpretation
The cross term barely moves the result at these levels
In the November 2024 example the cross term is 0.000057 per six months, or 0.0114 percentage points once doubled. Almost all of the composite rate is the fixed rate plus twice the six-month inflation rate.

What a given bond earns after a reset

There is no single I bond rate. Each bond carries the fixed rate in force when it was bought; all share the same inflation component. The table applies the May 2026 component to a range of fixed rates. The 1.20% row is the fixed rate Treasury published for bonds issued November 2024 to April 2025; the other rows are illustrations.

Composite rate with the May 2026 inflation component (1.67%) at different fixed rates
Fixed rateComposite rateAdded to value over six months
0.00%3.34%1.67%
0.50%3.85%1.92%
1.00%4.36%2.18%
1.20% (bonds issued Nov 2024 to Apr 2025)4.56%2.28%
2.00%5.37%2.69%
Source: our calculation using 31 CFR 359.14 and BLS CPI-U index levels for September 2025 and March 2026. Six-month figures are the unrounded six-month rate before doubling, rounded to two decimals.
Fact
A new rate reaches a bond on the bond's own schedule
Under 31 CFR 359.15 the latest composite rate “applies to a bond during its next semiannual rate period”, and those periods start from the issue date. The regulation's example: a bond bought in April resets every April and October, so the May rate reaches it in October. A bond bought in May resets in May and November, so “the composite rates announced in May and November will apply immediately”.
Fact
The composite rate has a floor of zero
The composite rate “will always be greater than or equal to 0.00%”, and a bond's redemption value for any month “will not be less than the value for the preceding month”. A negative inflation rate still enters the formula, but can pull the composite only to zero.

Treasury's announcement page for the May 1, 2026 rates, including the fixed rate for bonds bought from May 1 to October 31, 2026, could not be retrieved for this article. The fixed rate is therefore not stated here; TreasuryDirect publishes it.

The rules around the rate

  • Purchase limit. $10,000 of Series I bonds per calendar year, and a separate $10,000 of Series EE (31 CFR 363.52), per Social Security Number or Employer Identification Number, as TreasuryDirect puts it.
  • Gifts. Gift bonds count toward the recipient's limit in the year they are delivered.
  • Electronic only. “As of January 1, 2025, I bonds are only available electronically” (TreasuryDirect). The minimum is $25, then any amount to the penny.
  • The 12-month lock. A bond issued on or after February 1, 2003 can be redeemed “at any time after 12 months from its issue date” (31 CFR 359.6).
  • The three-month penalty. Before five years, the earning period is cut by three months (31 CFR 359.7). TreasuryDirect's example: cash in after 18 months and you get the first 15 months of interest.
  • Life of the bond. An I bond earns interest for 30 years unless cashed earlier.

Against a Series EE bond

Fact
An EE bond trades inflation linkage for a doubling floor
Series EE bonds issued on or after May 1, 2005 earn a fixed rate “established for the life of the bond”. They reach original maturity “at 20 years after the issue date”, and at that point “the redemption value of a book-entry bond shall not be less than double the purchase price” (31 CFR 351.34 and 351.35). The same three-month penalty applies before five years.
Wealth Signal calculation
What doubling in 20 years works out to
Doubling over 40 six-month periods requires 2^(1/40) − 1 = 1.748% per period, or 3.50% a year stated the way Treasury states composite rates. An EE bond held to 20 years earns at least that; an I bond's rate instead moves with CPI-U every six months, on top of its fixed rate.

What it means for your money

The inflation component is designed to match measured CPI-U inflation, so the fixed rate is the part of the return above it. A bond with a 0.00% fixed rate keeps pace with the index and no more; a bond with a 1.20% fixed rate earns 1.20% a year above it, before the cross term. That is the distinction between nominal and real returns, written into the bond.

The headline rate is an annual figure that applies for six months. At a 4.56% composite, a bond's value rises by 2.28% in that six-month period, then the rate resets. A quoted rate therefore says little about what a bond earns over several years; the sequence of six-month CPI-U changes does that.

Access is the other side of the arithmetic. Money in an I bond cannot be redeemed for 12 months, and redeeming before five years costs the last three months of interest. For a household weighing this against an emergency fund in a bank account, the lock and the penalty are fixed terms; the rate is not.

November 1, 2026: what is known and what is not

The November announcement's inflation component will be the change from March 2026 (330.213) to September 2026. BLS has scheduled the September 2026 CPI for October 14, 2026 at 8:30 a.m. ET. The fixed rate for new bonds is a separate decision: the regulation says only that the Secretary, or a designee, “determines the fixed rate of return” and gives no formula for it.

Wealth Signal calculation
Five of the six months are published
The August 2026 CPI, released September 11, 2026, put the unadjusted index at 334.980. Against March 2026: (334.980 − 330.213) ÷ 330.213 = 4.767 ÷ 330.213 = 1.44%.
Interpretation
The August figure is not the November inflation rate
The regulation uses September, not August. September's unadjusted index can come in above or below August's, and the six-month change is set only when BLS publishes it. The 1.44% is a description of five months of published data, not a forecast of the November 1, 2026 rate.
Apr 10, 2026
BLS publishes March 2026 CPI-U: 330.213
May 1, 2026
Rate announcement; six-month CPI-U change of 1.67% enters the formula
Sep 11, 2026
BLS publishes August 2026 CPI-U: 334.980
Oct 14, 2026
BLS publishes September 2026 CPI, the second index level for the November reset
Nov 1, 2026
Announcement date set by 31 CFR 359.9
This piece does not state the fixed or composite rate Treasury announced for I bonds bought from May 1 to October 31, 2026; the announcement page could not be retrieved. The 1.67% is our calculation from BLS data, checked against Treasury's published 3.11%. Nothing here predicts the November 1, 2026 rate or the September 2026 CPI, or recommends buying, holding or redeeming savings bonds.

Sources

Wealth Signal prefers primary sources — regulators, statistical agencies and company filings. Named secondary sources are used where a primary document does not exist or is not public. Our source standards.

Editor and publisher · Markets, economics, personal finance

Wealth Signal is researched, written, edited and published by one person, under the Wealth Signal name. Every figure links to the document it came from, and errors are corrected on the page and logged publicly.

Related analysis

Cite this: Wealth Signal NYC (October 7, 2026). “The I bond's next rate hangs on one CPI number, due October 14.” https://www.wealthsignalnyc.com/stories/i-bond-rate-formula/ — the figures are the issuing agency’s, listed with their dates in the sources above; quote the agency, link the explainer.

This article is general information and analysis, not investment, tax or legal advice; read the financial disclaimer. Spotted an error? Corrections are made on the page and logged on the corrections page — tell the editor.